E recipes, gluten-free recipes, sugar-free recipes, thm, thm friendly, trim healthy mama

Gluten-Free ‘Spaghetti’

If you’re like me when you think of spaghetti, you automatically think of long, thin noodles.  Well, there is nothing saying you have to use those kind of noodles.  In fact, you can use any kind of noodle you want to.  For me, I need to have a Gluten-Free Spaghetti. So, whatever your need or want is, use your imagination.  Anything goes.  As long as you have noodles and tomato based sauce, you have spaghetti!  🙂

You can used brown rice pasta, corn pasta, rice pasta. There are any number of choices out there. For my THM friends there is Dreamfields Pasta. It is, however, not gluten-free so that is not an option for me.  When I make dinner, my whole family eats gluten-free because I don’t want to have to make two separate meals because I can’t have gluten.  That’s just too much work for my taste.

For quite some time now, I have been making my own spaghetti sauce. Sort of… I start with a canned sauce and add to it. If I wanted to , I could make one totally from scratch, but I got this ‘recipe’ from a full-blooded Italian woman who makes her spaghetti sauce like this so I figure if it’s good enough for her, it’s good enough for me!  😉

So here’s the recipe…

s

Gluten-Free Spaghetti

Get This:

  • 1 lb. gluten-free pasta, or spaghetti squash works too (whatever noodles you like, I’m not the boss of you!) (If you are a THM’er, use Dreamfields Pasta and only cook what you will eat in one sitting as it cannot be reheated)
  • 1 lb. lean venison, turkey or chicken
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 c. fresh mushrooms
  • garlic salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 can or jar of spaghetti sauce (make sure to get one WITHOUT high fructose corn syrup or added sugar)
  • 1 can all natural organic diced tomatoes
  • Italian seasoning, garlic powder and pepper to taste
  • Truvia, to taste (or your favorite sweetener) (yes, you add ‘sugar’ to the sauce to cut the acidity)

Do This:

  1. Cook your pasta until JUST done. You will cook with the sauce a bit. If using Dreamfields Pasta, cook according to packaging.
  2. Brown onion, lean ground meat, mushrooms and garlic together in medium pan until hamburger is no longer pink and onion is translucent. Season with garlic salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Once the hamburger mixture is done, add sauce, tomatoes, Italian seasoning, garlic powder and pepper.
  4. Add cooked pasta and stir to mix well. (If you are a THM’er, DO NOT add pasta to sauce, as you cannot reheat pasta).
  5. Simmer sauce for about 5 minutes.
  6. Add Stevia or sugar to taste.  My husband likes his sauce on the sweet side.
  7. Enjoy!

**note: for every 4-6 people just add another can of sauce and another can of tomatoes**

Live, laugh love and be kind! xoxo

3 thoughts on “Gluten-Free ‘Spaghetti’”

Can't wait to hear from you... xoxo