blog branding, blog review, cheesecake, gluten-free recipes, gluten-free reviews, Glutino Foods, S recipes, sugar-free recipes, thm, thm friendly, trim healthy mama

Chocolate And Salted Caramel Cheesecake

I am usually one of those people who are all or nothing. When I am on a ‘diet’, I normally say no to anything I would normally consider indulgent. Not because I feel I can’t splurge now and again, but because I can’t do ‘just one bit’ or ‘just one piece’.

Take this chocolate and salted caramel cheesecake for example….

gluten and (almost) sugar-free chocolate salted caramel cheesecake

This is not something I would normally indulge in. Something so rich and chocolatey with rich, salted caramel.  So yummy!

BUT, this one I can! This chocolate and salted caramel cheesecake is gluten and (mostly) sugar-free! It can be made completely sugar-free very easily. I made it using a couple of Glutino products because I was coming up with a recipe using their  chocolate and their new salted caramel pretzels. I found a few recipes for gluten-free and sugar-free cheesecake and tweaked them using what I needed to for the crust and topping. Boy, was it tasty! Yeah, I’ll share the recipe!

Chocolate And Salted Caramel Cheesecake  (Click HERE to print recipe)

For The Crust:

Get This:

  • 1 c. almond flour
  • 1 c. Glutino’s Salted Caramel Pretzels, blitzed in the food processor til chunky (if making 100% sugar-free omit these and use 2 c. almond flour or 1 c. each almond and coconut flours)
  • 1/4 c + 1 T. butter, melted.
  • 2 T. Truvia® or sweetener of choice

Do This:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  2. Mix flour, pretzel bits (if using) and sweetener together.
  3. Pour melted butter over mixture and mix well, making sure to get everything covered and a dough ball begins to form.
  4. Spray a 9″ x 13″ pan with non-stick cooking spray.
  5. Press dough firmly  into bottom of your baking dish.
  6. Bake crust at 350° F. for about 20m or until golden brown.
  7. Allow to cool.
  8. While the crust is baking and cooling, make your cheesecake filling.

For The Cheesecake: 

Get This:

  • 2 (8oz.) packages cream cheese or Neufchâtel, room temperature
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t. caramel extract
  • 1/4 – 1/2 c. Truvia® or sweetener of choice (more or less to taste)

Do This:

  1. Beat your cream cheese for a minute or so by itself so it’s creamy.
  2. Add eggs, sweetener and caramel extract; beat again til smooth. Set aside.
  3. Once your crust has cooled, spoon onto crust and bake for 25-35m or until you start to see golden brown patches across the top of your cheesecake.
  4. Allow to cool 5-10m before adding toppings.

For Toppings:

Get This:

  • sugar-free caramel sauce (I made my own, I will share my recipe tomorrow)
  • sugar-free chocolate chips or 80%-85% dark chocolate, chopped
  • pecans (optional)
  • Glutino’s chocolate covered pretzels, blitzed in the food processor til chunky (optional)

Do This:

  1. While your cheesecake bakes and cools, make your caramel sauce (recipe coming tomorrow).
  2. Chop your nuts (if using) and your chocolate (if needed).
  3. Blitz your Glutino’s chocolate pretzels in the food processor til chunky.
  4. Now sprinkle nuts, chocolate chips (or chocolate chunks) and pretzel bits over your still warm cheesecake.
  5. Once your chocolate bits have had a chance to melt a bit, drizzle caramel sauce over everything.
  6. Refrigerate for at least an hour before cutting and serving.
  7. ENJOY!!

Note: You can make this recipe completely sugar-free by omitting the pretzel bits in the crust and on top.  I am a product reviewer/recipe developer/giveaway hostess for Glutino and I wanted to come up with a delicious recipe using their new gluten-free salted caramel pretzels.

This recipe was inspired by these cheesecake bars. It came out better than I could have dreamed. Once again, Glutino’s has amazed me with their wonderful product. It gave this chocolate and salted caramel cheesecake a wonderful punch of flavor and I couldn’t have been happier with the results. Even my picky-eater sister thought it was really good, in fact she’s having a piece for lunch as I type this!

For my THM friends, simply leave the pretzels out and use either all almond flour or a combination of almond and coconut flours. This delicious chocolate and salted caramel cheesecake is an S dessert!

REVIEW: I am giving Glutino Salted Caramel Pretzels ♥♥♥♥♥

Lie, laugh, love and be kind!  xoxo

5 thoughts on “Chocolate And Salted Caramel Cheesecake”

    1. Thank you, Charlie. Yes, it’s great to be able to enjoy something without feeling guilty! I’m excited to share it! There’s a funny story to go along with it…well, I can laugh now. I wasn’t too sure about it at first. xo

      Like

    1. You’re welcome! It’s a couple extra steps for me, but I know it makes it so much easier for my readers to be able to use my recipes that it’s so worth it! Thank you for the feedback! 😊

      Like

Can't wait to hear from you... xoxo

