gluten-free recipes · pork · S recipes · thm · thm friendly · trim healthy mama

Pork Chops

I think pork chops often get a bad rap. They are also mistaken for pork steaks quite often.  Pork chops are often smaller and are definitely more lean than pork steaks. I prefer pork chops over pork steak, myself for that reason (the fact they are more lean).

Pork chops are also quite versatile. You can bread and fry them, you can butterfly them and grill them, you can glaze them, the options are pretty much only limited by your imagination.

You can buy pork chops a few different ways, as well. Butterflied, as I mentioned before. Thin cut and thick cut. I prefer the thinner or butterflied, myself because they are easier to cook without drying them out.  Mostly because the internal heat gets to temperature quicker so the outside doesn’t get over done (burnt) before the inside is hot enough to be safe to eat.

I like my pork chops breaded and fried some times. When I realized I was gluten intolerant, this became a problem. How can I bread my pork chops if I can’t have flour?!?! That’s where almond flour comes in my friends! And it is so good in this recipe!! I found the original here.

almond flour fried pork chops

I served my pork chops with buttered brussel sprouts! YUM!!! And now for the recipe y’all!

Almond Flour Fried Pork Chops (Click HERE to print recipe)

Get This:

  • 4-6 thin cut pork chops
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 c. heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 c. almond flour
  • 1/3 c. parmesan cheese
  • 1 1/2 t. garlic salt
  • 1 t. fresh ground pepper
  • 1/4 t. cayenne
  • 1/2 -3/4 c. coconut oil for frying

Do This:

  1. Beat eggs and cream together, in a shallow dish big enough to dip chops into, til frothy.
  2. Mix all dry ingredients together, in another shallow dish big enough to dip chops into, til combined well.
  3. Warm a large skillet over med-high heat; once warm place 1/2 – 3/4 c. coconut oil into pan and allow to melt.
  4. In the meantime, dip chops into first the egg mixture, then the almond flour mixture, making sure to coat both sides well with both.
  5. Carefully place coated chops in hot oil.
  6. DO NOT MOVE them until they have cooked 3-4 minutes on the first side. Once they have browned on the bottom and can easily be turned over, flip them and cook for another 3-4 minutes (or until done) on the other side.
  7. Remove from skillet and allow to cool slightly on paper towel to absorb some of the oil; serve warm with a nice salad or a hot veggie.
  8. I served mine with garlic and butter brussel sprouts.
  9. Enjoy!

Notes: This is a delicious ‘S’ meal for those following the THM lifestyle. Pork would always be an ‘S’ so there really isn’t a way to change this recipe for another setting. Enjoy! For the brussel sprouts, simply steam them til just done. Then add garlic salt and butter!! YUM!!!

LIVE, laugh, love and be kind!!  xoxo

Can't wait to hear from you... xoxo

