S recipes, sugar-free recipes, thm, thm friendly, trim healthy mama

Homemade Almond Butter

I have been getting really bad heartburn even though I have been gluten-free for about a month now.  I couldn’t figure out what was causing it.  So I thought and thought and I kinda did a process of elimination in my mind…I think it’s peanuts that’s doing it, peanut BUTTER to be exact.  I’m not sure why, but I think that’s what it is.  So, I decided to switch to almond butter.  Well, almond butter is kinda expensive.  As is EVERYTHING allergen-free, I have found.  I’m going to go broke fixing this body of mine!

Anyway, here is a simple, delicious recipe for homemade almond butter.

Homemade Almond Butter

Homemade Almond Butter (Click HERE to print recipe)

Get This:

  • 2 c. roasted, salted almonds
  • 1 – 2 t. coconut oil, melted
  • 1 – 2 packets NuStevia™

Do This:

  1. Toss the almonds in your food processor bowl, followed by 1 t. coconut oil and stevia.
  2. Pulse to get going, then process for 60 seconds.  Scrape sides of bowl and repeat.  Continue processing, scraping down and adding remaining oil as needed until you get desired consistency.
  3. Store in a cool dry place in an airtight container for up to two weeks.

I made a sandwich with this and the same sugar-free fruit preserves I always use and the same gluten-free bread I always use.  NO heartburn!  Yay! Must have been the peanut butter!!  So, I guess it’s easy on the peanut butter for me…

Live, laugh, love and be kind!  xoxo

Can't wait to hear from you... xoxo

