blog branding · blog review · gluten-free recipes · gluten-free reviews · Udis

Gluten-Free Fajitas

I got some gluten-free tortilla shells from Udi’s in the ginormous box of goodies they sent me, so I set about making gluten-free fajitas this afternoon.  I had everything I needed but the fajita seasoning itself.  So I checked a few things out and came up with what I thought should work.  We were really happy with what happened.

Gluten-Free Fajitas with Homemade Fajita Seasoning

Gluten-Free Fajitas (Click HERE to print recipe)

For The Seasoning:

  • 1 T. garlic granules
  • 1 T. chili powder
  • 1 t. cumin
  • 1 t. paprika
  • 1/4 t. cayenne pepper
  • 1 t. kosher salt
  • 1 t. cracked black pepper

Add all ingredients to a small bowl and mix well.  This will be enough for two batches of gluten-free fajitas if mixed with the amount of chicken and veggies given below.  Store unused spices in an airtight container for the next time you make fajitas or make a double batch.

For Filling:

  • 1 – 1 1/2 lbs skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • 1 large bell pepper, any color
  • 1 large onion, peeled and finely sliced
  • Season chicken and veggies to taste with salt and pepper
  • enough coconut oil to keep chicken from sticking to the pan
  • 1/3 -1/4 c. water to cook down spices

Begin by cutting chicken into large, but bite size pieces.  Cook over medium-high heat with 1-2 T. coconut oil, until no longer pink.  Once chicken is done, add onion and peppers.  Cook chicken and veggies for a couple of minutes to soften veggies a little.  If you are making a single batch, sprinkle half of your spices evenly over your chicken and veggies. Add 1/3 c. -1/4 c. water to dilute and cook down your spice mixture. Stir to make sure water and spices coat all chicken and veggies well. Continue to cook until veggies are soft and most of the water has evaporated.

6-8 Gluten-Free Tortilla Shells

Suggested Add-Ons:

  • lettuce
  • tomatoes
  • cheese
  • non-fat plain greek yogurt of sour cream
  • salsa

We usually save lettuce and tomatoes and that stuff for tacos.  I like just cheese and yogurt on my fajitas.  You can use whatever you like.  I’m not the boss of you!  😉

For the review…

Udi’s Gluten-Free Tortilla Shells

I am giving these ♥♥♥ . They had good flavor and held up pretty well to the fajita mixture, but were thick and the texture was off.  I think it’s just more of the fact I’m not use to them than anything, but of everything Udi’s sent me I’d have to say these were my least favorite so far. I would prefer them to a corn tortilla, though… I will review the pizza crusts tomorrow.

Try this fajita seasoning mix, you won’t be sorry!!

Live, laugh, love and be kind!  xoxo

Can't wait to hear from you... xoxo

