eggs, gluten-free recipes, sugar-free recipes, thm friendly, trim healthy mama

Easy Omelet

Breakfast for Lunch? Yep! That’s what I said, and no I haven’t gone mad. I just get tired of eating the same thing all the time.  When you are trying to eat healthy most of the time, sometimes you get in a rut.  It isn’t hard to do. Trust me.  I have been trying to come up with healthy ideas for lunches and dinners for  quite some time now and it isn’t always easy, especially when you’re cooking for just one or two people. This easy omelet is perfect!

In 2012 I was on a strict eating plan and I lost about 40 pounds.  I really liked the plan and I liked the results.  I sort of lost momentum and went off the plan though and I’ve gained most of the weight back.  I really need to get back on track! I keep starting and restarting, but I can’t seem to get my act together this time.

But, I will do it, I am determined!

Anywho…all that to say, I came up with an omelet that is tasty and quick to make. It has veggies in it and I like to cook it in coconut oil, which a super healthy, saturated fat. And the egg is a great protein source!! So it’s a quick, easy, and healthy meal!

4-egg omelet.nowicaneatcake

My easy omelet looks great ^^^ doesn’t it?

Easy Omelet   (Click HERE to print)

Get This:

  • 3-4 large eggs (depending on how big you want your omelet)
  • 1/4 c. cream or half and half
  • 1/4 small onion, chopped
  • 2-4 fresh mushrooms chopped (or more, depending on how big and how much you like)
  • 1/2 large fresh tomato,chopped
  • 2% shredded cheese
  • enough coconut oil to sauté your onions and mushrooms and then enough to just cover the bottom of your pan
  • seasonings for your eggs and veggies, whatever you like

Do This:

  1. First, sauté your onions and mushrooms in a T. of coconut oil (I seasoned mine with  little seasoned salt).
  2. Then set your onions and mushrooms aside.
  3. Next, wipe out your pan and add enough oil to just cover the bottom of the pan (1-2 T.).
  4. Now you want to start heating your pan and  scramble your eggs in a bowl  with 1/4 c. milk. Season eggs with whatever seasoning you like.
  5. Add eggs to heated pan. Cook until nicely browned on one side, tilting the pan to allow eggs to flow under cooked edge so that the top eventually is almost completely dry. Once you have most of the liquid part of the egg cooked, flip your egg over.
  6. Now is when you add your onions, mushrooms, tomatoes and cheese.
  7. Then flip your egg onto itself making the omelet. Tada! You have an omelet!

It took me a while to get the method down for making the omelet, so don’t worry if it doesn’t turn out prefect the first few times. It doesn’t have to be pretty, it will still taste good!!

Also this can be made any time of day, it doesn’t have to be breakfast! Have fun with it.

Live, laugh, love and be kind! xoxo

Can't wait to hear from you... xoxo

